Brittney Scott's captivating new poetry collection THE DERELICT DAUGHTER is ready for your order! Thorpe Moeckel tells us: "Here love, fury, grief, grit, and tenderness cohabitate in a landscape of trailers, bedrooms, juvenile detention centers, roadside ditches, sex, the body, and the woods, all entwined by...sentences that are bold, textured, and fraught.”

David Armstrong's story collection REITERATIONS is ready to read! Take a gander at this interview with the author at the Spokesman-Review and sample a story at Iron Horse Literary Review before you click below to order a copy!

Andre Dubus III wants you to read the stories in Wayne Harrison's "unforgettable" new collection WRENCH. Check out some interviews with Wayne at The Register-Guard, The Rumpus, and The Oregonian and then see what folks have to say at The Coil and Story366 before you click below to order your copy!

TAURUS, poems by Paul Nemser, is ready for your order. See what the Huffington Post has to say about this myth-infused love story set amongst the sentient robot arms of contemporary St. Petersburg.


Welcome to New American Press

We are now accepting submissions for the 2019 New American Poetry Prize. Extended deadline is Feb. 15, 2019. Winner receives $1,000, publication, and book promotion. Final judge for the 2019 contest is Sara Gelston, author of Odette, (DIAGRAM/New Michigan Press, 2016). To submit, use our convenient online submission manager.

We're pleased to announce that Andrew Grace has chosen Sarah Aronson's collection And Other Bodiless Powers to receive the 2018 New American Poetry Prize! Sarah's work has appeared or is forthcoming in Portland Review, Bellingham Review, Bennington Review, Yemassee, Camas, St. Petersburg Revie, Cirque, Boiler, Zymbol and elsewhere. A graduate of the MFA program at the University of Montana, Sarah currently lives in Missoula, where she operates a small private psychotherapy practice and a public radio program. She will receive $1,000 and her collection, And Other Bodiless Powers, will be released in 2019.

Finalists for the 2018 New American Poetry Prize include:

Body Fires, by Hannah Baggott of Fayetteville, NC
The Crossing, by Joseph Fasano of Middletown, NY
Crossing Bone River, by Jed Myers of Seattle, WA
The Far End of Haste, by Jane Wayne of St Louis, MO
—North of Paradise, by Rimas Uzgiris of Vilnius, Lithuania
Notes on an Arsenic Spring, by Mark McKain of St. Petersburg, FL
Pocketbook, by Patty Seyburn of Newport Beach, CA

We're super pumped that Wayne Harrison's story collection WRENCH was shortlisted for the 2018 Ken Kesey Award for Fiction and a Readers’ Choice Award. Both awards were presented at a ceremony on April 30 by Literary Arts of Portland, Oregon.

The submission period for the 2018 New American Fiction Prize closed on July 1. The reading committee will be at work for several months assembling the finalist pool for contest judge John McNally. The winner will receive $1,000, publication, and promotional support.

We're pleased to announce that Lori Ostlund has chosen Seth Borgen's story collection If I Die in Ohio to receive the 2017 New American Fiction Prize! A native of northeastern Ohio, Seth studied with Michelle Herman and Lee K. Abbott at The Ohio State University before completing an MFA in fiction at the University of Mississippi, where he worked with Tom Franklin and Barry Hannah. Seth's fiction has appeared previously in Water~Stone Review, Brink Magazine and the Green Mountains Review. A current resident of Akron, Ohio, Seth will receive $1,000 and If I Die in Ohio will be released in Spring 2019.

Finalists for the 2017 New American Fiction Prize include:

—The War of Northern Aggression, by Roy Bentley of Pataskala, OH
—New Careers in Science!, by Barrett Bowlin of Vestal, NY
—Cabaret Nation, by Robert Morgan Fisher of Woodland Hills, CA
—Sex With Strangers, by Michael Lowenthal of Roslindale, MA
—This Is Not My Story, by Amanda Marbais of Chicago, IL
—Everybody Dies, by Marléne Zadig of Berkeley, CA

We are pleased to announce that Jesse Lee Kercheval selected A Small Rising Up in the Lungs, by Kit Frick of Brooklyn, New York, to receive the 2017 New American Poetry Prize. A MacDowell Colony fellow, Kit studied creative writing at Sarah Lawrence College and received her MFA from Syracuse University. Her debut young adult novel is See All the Stars (Simon & Schuster / Margaret K. McElderry Books, 2018). Kit will receive $1,000 and A Small Rising Up in the Lungs will be released in Fall 2018.

Finalists for the 2017 New American Poetry Prize include:

—Posthumous Noon, by Aaron Baker of Chicago, IL
—Fixed Star
, by Suzanne Fischkorn of Redding, CT
—Seducing the Asparagus Queen, by Amorak Huey of East Grand Rapids, MI
—The Haruspicators, by Charles Kell of Charlestown, RI
—The Marriage of Space and Time, by Jed Myers of Seattle, WA
—North of Paradise, by Rimas Uzgiris of Vilnius, Lithuania

We're excited that Gina Frangello selected Welcome to Freedom Point by Marina Mularz of Los Angeles, CA, to receive the 2016 New American Fiction Prize! Recently named a finalist for the Samantha Bee Full Frontal Mentorship Program, Marina also received the 2015 Nonesuch National Humor Writing Prize and was shortlisted by George Saunders for Matrix Magazine's LitPOP Award. She will receive $1,000 and Welcome to Freedom Point will be released in Fall 2018.

Finalists for the 2016 Prize include:

—The Rink Girl, a collection by Mark Brazaitis of Morgantown, VA
—X, a novel by Peter Grandbois of Granville, OH
—The Gravity of Longings, a collection by Kathryn Paulsen of New York, NY
—Locked Gray/Linked Blue, a collection by Kem Joy Ukwu of Bloomfield, NJ

We're pleased to announce that Gabriel Gudding selected The Underneath, by Christopher Cokinos, to receive the 2016 New American Poetry Prize. Recipient of a Whiting Award, a Glasgow Prize, and an N.S.F. Antarctic Visiting Artists and Writers Fellowship, Christopher is an Associate Professor of English at the University of Arizona and an affiliated faculty with the Institute of the Environment and the Global Change program.

Finalists for the 2016 Prize include:

—Nostalgia for a World Where We Can Live, by Monica Berlin
—The Ghosts of Lost Animals, by Michelle Bonczek
—The Iron Staircase and Other Disturbing Tales of Woe, by Sydnee Brower
—Nimrod in Hell, by James Capozzi
—Sentences, by Richard Carr
—Pause, Now Pause, by D. Gilson
—Taking the Homeless Census, by Alexis Ivy
—Overseeing the Downfall, by Jeff Nesheim
—The Listening Room, by Kathleen Rooney
—If the Girl Never Learns, by Sue William Silverman

The 2017 NEW POETRY FROM THE MIDWEST is ready for your order! Guest edited by Kathy Fagan, this biennial anthology once again redefines the Midwest by gathering dynamic new work by poets who write and publish in the large and varied heart of the United States.

Check out the latest NEW STORIES FROM THE MIDWEST, edited by Lee Martin and featuring recent stories by Charles Baxter, Joyce Carol Oates, Peter Ho Davies, Stuart Dybek, Albert Goldbarth, Laura Van Den Berg, and more!

Check out the starred review at Publishers Weekly for the neo-fabulist stories and modern fairy tales in ELECTRICITY & OTHER DREAMS, a collection by Micah Dean Hicks!

Check out JAR OF PENNIES, the poetry collection by Sean Karns that the Los Angeles Review says "evokes for readers the self of a nation . . . divided, caught in the turmoil of the heartache of love."